Wondrous Work, Pt.II

November 18, 2010 § Leave a comment

When I work, I usually like to listen to something to help me stay focused, be it music, podcasts or interviews. Recently I’ve been listening to the latest editions of Design Matters with Debbie Millman on Design Observer. These are a great way for me to stay inspired when I have to get down to nitty-gritty work like updating spreadsheets or reviewing product descriptions. Two of my recent favorites are the interviews with Marian Bantjes and Tina Roth Eisenberg.

Earlier this week I raved about how much I loved the new book “I Wonder,” by Marian Bantjes, so it’s only suiting that I know tell you about her interview. I know you get it, I think she’s awesome. (Which you’re right, she is!) But what I wanted to point out to you, my faithful readers, is a specific part of the interview.

“I am not a doodler.”

I have to say, I have struggled with not being a doodler for quite some time. While I was in college working towards my B.F.A. I felt like everyone else in the program could just sit down with a pen and draw stuff. While I love to see other people’s doodles scrawled across a piece of paper available, I have never felt that inclination. When I create, it is always for a purpose. I sketch because there is a visual solution I need to find using my hands; I make prints because I have a creative urge that needs to be fulfilled. I was not built with the desire to doodle all over my notes during a meeting. Until this interview I thought I was the only person with this “affliction.” Now I know, there is at least one other non-doodling creative person out there just like me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wondrous Work, Pt.II at Between Bookends.

meta

